New to IOM

Discuss IOM design, building an IOM, information on suppliers, tuning an IOM, results of recent events, etc

Moderator: Pedro Egea

BrianONeill
Sail number: GBR2802
Club: East Down Yacht club
Design: Stealth MkII

New to IOM

Post by BrianONeill » 08 Feb 2012, 02:48

Hello All,
I'm new to RC sailing and IOMs and have just purchased a Stealth MkII. I'd like to get in touch with Stealth owners, past or present, to learn a little more about the design, it's strengths, weaknesses, and any peculiarities it may have in set up, rig tuning and sailing which have been found to make it go quicker, outside of the very informative set up and tuning editorials and posts I've found relating to IOMs from internet searches.
From my untrained eye it before I purchased, it looked to have fairly moderate lines and would be relatively straightforward for a new comer to learn to sail and get up to speed reasonably quickly.

Many thanks,

Brian.

Dave Alston
Sail number: GBR3096
Club: Market Bosworth
Design: Fatboy

Re: New to IOM

Post by Dave Alston » 09 Feb 2012, 17:39

Hi Brian,

I understand that the Stealth can be a particularly tricky boat to set up and one would urge caution when approaching this task. Some owners have reported terrible injuries being inflicted upon themselves as a result of savage attacks from the boat whilst adjusting kick straps, shrouds and back stays on these completely innocuous looking boats.

Do not be fooled by their looks, attractive lines and shiny hulls, they are killers!!

The reasons for this is unclear at this time. However considered opinion is that the boat behave like this when it hates the sails and is trying to shake them off or is disenchanted with the skipper.

Others have reported long term mental injury and it is not uncommon to hear the phrase:–

‘This is doing my (h)ead in’
the ‘h’ being entirely optional as one progresses south in the UK.