It may be helpful to recall the old rule from 2009-2012:New RRS wrote:E6.6 Redress
Add to rule 62.1:
(f) becoming disabled and as a result retiring because of the action of a boat that was breaking a rule of Part 2 or of a vessel not racing that was required to keep clear.
So, the new E6.6 requires that you retire before you can ask for redress. No retirement, no redress. So far, so good.Old RRS wrote:E5.5 Redress
(a) Add to rule 62.1:
(f) an entanglement or grounding because of the action of a boat that was breaking a rule of Part 2 or of a vessel not racing that was required to keep clear.
Then, your retirement must be *a result* of your becoming disabled. Hmmm... So, shortly before the finish line, you hit me while I'm on starboard in second place, and you are on port in third place, and we become entangled. The fleet sails by, one by one passing us and finishing. Around 60 seconds later we become unentangled. The rest of the fleet has finished, so I decide to retire and ask for redress. At the redress hearing, I am asked if I retired as a result of becoming disabled. Well, I say, I was disabled while the fleet sailed by, and then became undisabled, and retired instead of finishing so I could ask for my second place. Sorry, I am told, E6.6 does not apply to your situation, redress denied, your retirement was not *a result* of becoming disabled. Besides, the Chair says, you were not disabled at the time you retired; after a little while, you were perfectly able to continue racing, and indeed sailed off the course without any trouble...
The way I read this is that, in effect, you'll never be able to ask for redress again. (Well, OK, sure, you can always ask for redress if you were damaged under RRS 62.1(b), but we are not talking about any damage here, just "normal" radio sailing entanglement or grounding.)
Have I got that right?