Commercial boats

Discuss how IOMICA and IOM NCAs operate

Moderators: Pedro Egea, Gary Boell, Fred Rocha USA 33

Ife

Commercial boats

Post by Ife » 19 Aug 2004, 03:32

Hello everybody. I'm new to this, so I apologise if I do this incorrectly. Please can anyone tell me what commercially available kits comply with the 1M class, specifically the MRP Voyager?
Also, can a boat that complies with the 36" restricted class be raced in a 1M regatta?
Thank you for your attentions to this cry for advice.
Best wishes
Ife (pronounced "ee-feh")
Best wishes
Ife
xxx : )

Chairman
IOMICA Chairman

Re: Commercial boats

Post by Chairman » 19 Aug 2004, 08:55

Ife wrote:Please can anyone tell me what commercially available kits comply with the 1M class, specifically the MRP Voyager?
Hi Ife

You'd need to check that a 1000 mm length boat conformed to the IOM class rules. The key requirements are that it weighs at least 4 kg, has an overall draught between 370 mm and 420 mm, its keel weighs between 2200 and 2500 g, and its sails measure to quite close tolerances (as specified in the IOM class rules) for foot, luff, and quarter widths.

The only "real" kit IOM I know of is the Robbe "Windstar", useful description at John's site http://home.comcast.net/~jrflorida/kit_ioms.html.

Climate Models sell the "Epoch" in an IOM version, but its keel is a flat plate. http://climateboatworks.bizland.com/store/page0.html

It does depend how "complete" you want your kit, what your building skills are, and, I guess, how much you wish to pay. Many IOM suppliers will sell you a basic hull moulding, a bag of fittings, and instructions, but these would require quite a few hours of patient building and are certainly not ARS (almost ready to sail).
Also, can a boat that complies with the 36" restricted class be raced in a 1M regatta?