Outside help while racing

Discuss the IOM class rules and interpretations

Moderators: Pedro Egea, jeffbyerley

Post Reply
Lester
Posts: 611
Joined: 14 Oct 2004, 22:29
Location: GBR 105
Contact:

Outside help while racing

Post by Lester » 27 Feb 2009, 11:25

Barry Chisam wrote:So if a promoted boat is still racing between heats does that mean that no tuning help or tactical discussions etc are permitted as surely that would be outside assistance.
Hi Barry

Nice one! Yes, the way I read E1.1, this is exactly what E4.2 says... (smile).
Lester Gilbert
http://www.onemetre.net/

Hiljoball
Posts: 270
Joined: 06 Jan 2006, 00:47
Sail number: CAN 307
Design: V8
Location: CAN

Post by Hiljoball » 27 Feb 2009, 16:30

I disagree with that argument as E1.1 defines the word 'Race' as a noun.

The definition of 'Racing' uses the word as a verb.

So while a boat that is promoted to the next heat has not yet finished the Race (ie her final finish position is not yet determined), she is not 'racing' in the period between the heats.

it would be unfair to allow the competitors in the upcoming heat to be able to receive help, yet the promoted boats be excluded from that same kind of help.
John Ball
CRYA #895
IOM CAN 307 V8
In my private capacity

Barry Chisam
Posts: 33
Joined: 20 May 2004, 22:10

Post by Barry Chisam » 27 Feb 2009, 19:03

So not only do we have to know (think we know) our rights and obligations when racing but also need a degree in English to decifer the rules. Glad ime not Croation, Spanish, Italian etc.

RoyL
Posts: 705
Joined: 15 Dec 2003, 21:03

Post by RoyL » 27 Feb 2009, 19:32

Good news for us Barry, is that in the real world we all know the right answer to the question that you posed in that no one ever has been and I would suggest ever will be validly protested for tuning or talking between heats of an IOM race.

Of course, I have degrees in both English and the Law, so I have a distinct advantage in this area (lol)....

Barry Chisam
Posts: 33
Joined: 20 May 2004, 22:10

Post by Barry Chisam » 02 Mar 2009, 18:23

Although a race may start with heat 'D' and finish with heat 'A' competitors are not racing during its entire duration.

The RRS definitions tell us that 'a boat is racing from her preparatory signal until she finishes and clears the finish line or marks.

This means that outside these times a boat is not racing however many prep signals there are. After all in a single heat race after a general recal boats are not racing between the recall and the new prep signal.

Lester
Posts: 611
Joined: 14 Oct 2004, 22:29
Location: GBR 105
Contact:

Post by Lester » 12 Mar 2009, 23:26

I am now straightened out here (smile). A boat is racing between her prep signal until she clears the finish line for any heat. So she can receive outside help between heats. The other topics here continue to discuss the circumstances (between heats? Races? Events?) in which she can replace her batteries with a pack in a different position or of a diferent weight...
Lester Gilbert
http://www.onemetre.net/

Post Reply